Review

January 2021 Wrap Up

January felt like a very long month and towards the end of the month I fell into a bit of a reading slump that I’m struggling to get out of, hence its March and you’re getting my January wrap up but I didn’t want to skip these entirely.

The Smallest Man* ~ I started the year with some historical fiction, full review here, 3 stars.

Failosophy ~ A quick little read that I really enjoyed, would recommend to anyone who enjoys the podcast, 4 stars.

Believe Me ~ My husband and I have been listening to this on audio since August (I think) its read by the author and I think that really added to how much we enjoyed it, 4 stars.

Outsiders ~ A short story collection centered around the theme of being an outsider, 4 stars.

Married at First Swipe* ~ Full review here, similar premise to the TV show with a similar sounding name, I think I had this built up a bit too much in my head, 3 stars.

Intimations ~ I think this was a bit too hyped in my head going into it, this was a short essay collection from Zadie Smith written in lockdown, 3 stars.

Blood and Sugar ~ I’ve read this author’s books out of order but after reading Daughters of Night in December I picked up the first book via audio and it had me even more hooked, 4 stars.

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse ~ A favourite from 2020, revisited via audio. This book is mainly pictures so I was unsure how it would work in audio form but I was pleasantly surprised, 5 stars.

Two Stories ~ Two short stories by Sally Rooney, with many collections I liked one story much more than the other, 3 stars.

Away with the Penguins ~ This was my first read for Beth’s Book Club and I’m so glad because I never would have picked this up but it was such a lovely story, 4 stars.

Gold Light Shining* ~ A short poetry collection, full review here, 3 stars.

The Poet X ~ This book is written in verse and I listened to this via my library audio app, I’m really glad I did as I think I would have skimmed through otherwise, 3 stars.

The Prison Doctor: Women Inside ~ I bought this as soon as I realised it existed! My husband and I really enjoyed the first book and this was similar, I was amazed at some of the stories and stats in this, would really recommend. 4 stars.

How to Break with Your Phone ~ One of my aims for 2021 is to become less reliant on my phone, I’ve always been a bit addicted but particularly over the last year I’m finding my screen time increasing. This book includes a 30 day plan on giving up your phone, I’ll be honest I didn’t follow that but I did pick up several tips and made some changes because of it, most notably my phone is now on airplane mode overnight because I like the idea of leaving it in another room/in a drawer but I use my phone for mediations/sleep casts if I wake up in the night, 3 stars.

Titles marked * have been provided for free in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a comment